Find JSRs
Submit this Search

Ad Banner

Java Community Process: EC Elections 2014

2014 Executive Committee (EC) Elections

The 2014 Fall Executive Committee (EC) Elections process is now complete. The EC Elections process was launched in June 2000. This election was hosted by Votenet and closed on 10 November 2014 at 11:59 PM Pacific Time.

This year, there were 8 Ratified and 5 Elected Seats open for election. Since we are transitioning to JCP 2.10 in 2015, all those who win Elected Seats will serve a one year term.

Congratulations to the following JCP Members as the new and re-elected EC Members.

Ratified Seats: Freescale, Gemalto M2M GmbH, Goldman Sachs, MicroDoc, SAP, Software AG, TOTVS and V2COM

Open Election Seats: ARM Inc., Azul Systems, Hazelcast, Inc., Werner Keil and Geir Magnusson Jr

Newly elected EC Members take their seats on Tuesday, 25 November 2014.

Detailed Election Results

Voting Period: 28 October - 10 November 2014.

Number of Eligible Voters: 818
Percent of Eligible Members Casting Votes: 28.24%

Ratified Seats:

CandidateYes votes (%)No votes (%)Abstentions
Freesacle156 (84)29 (16)46
Gemalto M2M GmbH161 (84)31 (16)39
Goldman Sachs141 (70)60 (30)30
MicroDoc148 (83)31 (17)52
SAP144 (76)46 (24)41
Software AG151 (80)38 (20)42
TOTVS128 (77)39 (23)64
V2COM138 (78)39 (22)54

Open Election Seats:

The top five candidates have been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Azul Systems176 (17)
ARM Inc. 157 (15)
Werner Keil119 (12)
Geir Magnusson Jr113 (11)
Hazelcast, Inc.108 (10)
MoroccoJUG94 (9)
Jelastic, Inc.81 (8)
Waratek Ltd.58 (6)
Vladimir Safonov56 (5)
Maran Singh Malhi44 (4)
TimeSys Corporation27 (3)
None of the above1 (0)

For more information about the candidates who ran for the 2014 Executive Committee Election, please visit the 2014 Executive Committee Elections Nominees page.

16 September - 6 October 2014 Nominations open for Elected Seats
28 September 2014 Public EC meeting at JavaOne (EC nominees should attend)
23 October 2014 Meet the JCP Executive Committee Candidates Teleconference @ 9:30 AM PDT
23 October 2014 Voter eligibility deadline
28 October - 10 November 2014 Ballot open for voting
25 November 2014 New EC Members take office


After the Executive Committee (EC) Elections in 2012, the SE/EE and ME Executive Committees are merged into a single Executive Committee, as defined by JSR 355 and the JCP 2.9 Process Document. In the merged Executive Committee, there are 16 Ratified Seats, 8 Elected Seats and the permanent seat held by Oracle America. Members serve 2-year terms that are staggered so that 12 of the 24 seats are normally up for ratification/election each year.

The EC members guide the evolution of the Java technologies. The EC represents a cross-section of both major stakeholders and other members of the Java Community. Duties are: select JSRs for development, approve draft Specifications for Public Review, approve Final Specifications, review TCK appeals, approve Maintenance revisions and possibly defer some features to a new JSR, approve transfer of maintenance duties between members and provide guidance to the Program Management Office (PMO). For more information on the EC, see the Executive Committee Info page.

2013 EC Elections Results

2012 EC Elections Results

2011 EC Elections Results

2010 EC Elections Results

2009 EC Elections Results

2008 EC Elections Results

2007 EC Elections Results

2006 EC Elections Results

2005 EC Elections Results

2004 EC Elections Results

2003 EC Elections Results

2002 EC Elections Results

2001 EC Elections Results

2000 EC Elections Results

For more information on the JCP, see the JCP Overview page.

Contact the PMO for election questions at