Find JSRs
Submit this Search

Ad Banner

Java Community Process: EC Elections 2016

2016 Executive Committee (EC) Elections

The 2016 Fall Executive Committee (EC) Elections process is now complete. The EC Elections process was launched in June 2000. This election was hosted by Votenet and closed on 14 November 2016 at 11:59 PM Pacific Time.

This year, there were 7 Ratified, 6 Elected and 2 Associate Seats open for election.

Congratulations to the following JCP Members as the elected EC Members.

Ratified Seats (all serving a two-year term): Gemalto M2M GmbH, Goldman Sachs, MicroDoc, NXP Semiconductors N.V., SAP SE, Software AG and V2COM

Elected Seats:

Serving a two-year term: Eclipse Foundation, London Java Community and Azul Systems
Serving a one-year term: Twitter, Tomitribe and Hazelcast

Associate Seats:

Serving a two-year term: Ivar Grimstad
Serving a one-year term: Werner Keil

Newly elected EC Members take their seats on Tuesday, 29 Novemver 2016.

Detailed Election Results

Voting Period: 1 - 14 November 2016

Number of Eligible Voters: 983
Percent of Eligible Voters Casting Votes: 36.42%

Number of Full and Partner Members Eligible to Vote: 757
Percent of Full and Partner Members Casting Votes: 24.97%

Number of Associate Members Eligible to Vote: 226
Percent of Associate Members Casting Votes: 74.78%

Ratified Seats:

CandidateYes votes (%)No votes (%)Abstentions
Gemalto M2M GmbH139 (89)18 (11)32
Goldman Sachs133 (78)37 (22)19
MicroDoc130 (86)21 (14)38
NXP Semiconductors N.V.114 (83)23 (17)52
SAP SE134 (85)24 (15)31
Software AG124 (83)25 (17)40
V2COM139 (91)14 (9)36

Elected Seats:

The top six candidates have been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Eclipse Foundation139 (14)
London Java Community136 (14)
Azul Systems126 (13)
Twitter115 (12)
Tomitribe97 (10)
Hazelcast89 (9)
Geir Magnusson Jr83 (8)
iJUG e.V.75 (8)
Alibaba54 (5)
Jelastic, Inc.50 (5)
GreenTeaJUG30 (3)

Associate Seats:

The top two candidates have been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Ivar Grimstad103 (35)
Werner Keil98 (33)
Morocco JUG54 (18)
Luca Botti24 (8)
Peter Pilgrim17 (6)

For more information about the candidates who ran for the 2016 Executive Committee Election, please visit the 2016 Executive Committee Elections Nominees page.

30 August - 19 September 2016 Nominations open for Elected and Associate Seats
18 September 2016 Public EC meeting at JavaOne (EC nominees should attend)
13 October 2016 Meet the JCP Executive Committee Candidates Teleconference @ 10 AM PDT
27 October 2016 Voter eligibility deadline
1 - 14 November 2016 Ballot open for voting
15 November 2016 Elections results available
29 November 2016 New EC Members take office


Under the JCP 2.10 rules, there are 16 Ratified Seats, 6 Elected Seats, 2 Associate Seats and the permanent seat held by Oracle America. Members serve 2-year terms that are staggered so that 12 of the 24 seats are normally up for ratification/election each year.

The EC members guide the evolution of the Java technologies. The EC represents a cross-section of both major stakeholders and other members of the Java Community. Duties are: select JSRs for development, approve draft Specifications for Public Review, approve Final Specifications, review TCK appeals, approve Maintenance revisions and possibly defer some features to a new JSR, approve transfer of maintenance duties between members and provide guidance to the Program Management Office (PMO). For more information on the EC, see the Executive Committee Info page.

2015 EC Elections Results

2014 EC Elections Results

2013 EC Elections Results

2012 EC Elections Results

2011 EC Elections Results

2010 EC Elections Results

2009 EC Elections Results

2008 EC Elections Results

2007 EC Elections Results

2006 EC Elections Results

2005 EC Elections Results

2004 EC Elections Results

2003 EC Elections Results

2002 EC Elections Results

2001 EC Elections Results

2000 EC Elections Results

For more information on the JCP, see the JCP Overview page.

Contact the PMO for election questions at