Find JSRs
Submit this Search

Ad Banner

Java Community Process: EC Elections 2021

2021 Executive Committee (EC) Elections

The 2021 Fall Executive Committee (EC) Elections process is now complete. The EC Elections process was launched in June 2000. This election was hosted by Votenet and closed on 15 November 2021 at 11:59 PM Pacific Standard Time.

This year, there were 5 Ratified, 2 Elected and 1 Associate Seats open for election.

Congratulations to the following JCP Members as the newly elected and re-elected EC Members.

Ratified Seats (all serving a two-year term): Arm Ltd, Fujitsu Limited, IBM, Intel, and Sociedade de Usuários da Tecnologia Java - SouJava

Elected Seats (all serving a two-year term): Azul Systems and Services, Inc

Associate Seats: (serving a two-year term): Miroslav Wengner

Newly elected EC Members take their seats on Tuesday, 30 November 2021.

Detailed Election Results

Voting Period: 2 - 15 November 2021

Number of Eligible Voters: 861
Percent of Eligible Voters Casting Votes: 28.69%

Number of Full and Partner Members Eligible to Vote: 422
Percent of Full and Partner Members Casting Votes: 24.41%

Number of Associate Members Eligible to Vote: 439
Percent of Associate Members Casting Votes: 32.80%

Ratified Seats:

CandidateYes votes (%)No votes (%)Abstentions
Arm Ltd88 (93)7 (7)8
Fujitsu Limited84 (90)9 (10)10
IBM92 (90)10 (10)1
Intel91 (91)9 (9)3
Sociedade de Usuários da Tecnologia Java - SouJava91 (94)6 (6)6

Elected Seats:

The top two (2) candidates have been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Azul Systems49 (26) Services, Inc40 (21)
Twitter32 (17)
Tomitribe31 (16)
Chicago Java Users Group23 (12)
Deep Netts15 (8)

Associate Seats:

The top one (1) candidate has been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Miroslav Wengner65 (47)
Ixchel Ruiz48 (35)
Abidjan Java User Group24 (18)

For more information about the candidates who ran for the 2021 Executive Committee Election, please visit the 2021 Executive Committee Elections Nominees page.

7 September - 4 October 2021 Nominations open for Elected and Associate Seats
28 September 2021 Voter eligibility deadline
28 October 2021 Meet the JCP Executive Committee Candidates Zoom Webinar @ 10 AM PDT
2 - 15 November 2021 Ballot open for voting
16 November 2021 Elections results available
30 November 2021 New EC Members take office


Under the JCP 2.11 rules, the EC has resized. In 2021 and going forward, there will be 11 Ratified Seats, 4 Elected Seats, 2 Associate Seats and the permanent seat held by Oracle America. Members serve 2-year terms that are staggered so that 8 or 9 of the 17 seats are normally up for ratification/election each year.

The EC members guide the evolution of the Java technologies. The EC represents a cross-section of both major stakeholders and other members of the Java Community. Duties are: select JSRs for development, approve draft Specifications for Public Review, approve Final Specifications, review TCK appeals, approve Maintenance revisions and possibly defer some features to a new JSR, approve transfer of maintenance duties between members and provide guidance to the Program Management Office (PMO). For more information on the EC, see the Executive Committee Info page.

2020 EC Elections Results

2019 EC Elections Results

2018 EC Elections Results

2018 EC Special Elections Results

2017 EC Elections Results

2017 Special EC Elections Results

2016 EC Elections Results

2015 EC Elections Results

2014 EC Elections Results

2013 EC Elections Results

2012 EC Elections Results

2011 EC Elections Results

2010 EC Elections Results

2009 EC Elections Results

2008 EC Elections Results

2007 EC Elections Results

2006 EC Elections Results

2005 EC Elections Results

2004 EC Elections Results

2003 EC Elections Results

2002 EC Elections Results

2001 EC Elections Results

2000 EC Elections Results

For more information on the JCP, see the JCP Overview page.

Contact the PMO for election questions at