Find JSRs
Submit this Search

Ad Banner

Java Community Process: EC Elections 2022

2022 Executive Committee (EC) Elections

The 2022 Fall Executive Committee (EC) Elections process is now complete. The EC Elections process was launched in June 2000. This election was hosted by Votenet and closed on 14 November 2022 at 11:59 PM Pacific Standard Time.

This year, there were 6 Ratified, 2 Elected and 1 Associate Seats open for election.

Congratulations to the following JCP Members as the newly elected and re-elected EC Members.

Ratified Seats (all serving a two-year term): Alibaba, BellSoft, BNY Mellon, JetBrains, MicroDoc, and SAP SE

Elected Seats (all serving a two-year term): Eclipse Foundation and Microsoft

Associate Seats: (serving a two-year term): Ken Fogel

Newly elected EC Members take their seats on Tuesday, 29 November 2022.

Detailed Election Results

Voting Period: 1 - 14 November 2022

Number of Eligible Voters: 848
Percent of Eligible Voters Casting Votes: 26.89%

Number of Full and Partner Members Eligible to Vote: 405
Percent of Full and Partner Members Casting Votes: 26.67%

Number of Associate Members Eligible to Vote: 443
Percent of Associate Members Casting Votes: 27.09%

Ratified Seats:

CandidateYes votes (%)No votes (%)Abstentions
Alibaba70 (80)18 (20)20
BellSoft75 (93)6 (7)27
BNY Mellon80 (91)8 (9)20
JetBrains105 (99)1 (1)2
MicroDoc69 (85)12 (15)27
SAP SE78 (87)12 (13)18

Elected Seats:

The top two (2) candidates have been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Eclipse Foundation100 (50)
Microsoft82 (41)
GreenTeaJUG20 (10)

Associate Seats:

The top one (1) candidate has been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Ken Fogel86 (75)
PERUJUG28 (25)

For more information about the candidates who ran for the 2022 Executive Committee Election, please visit the 2022 Executive Committee Elections Nominees page.

6 September - 3 October 2022 Nominations open for Elected and Associate Seats
27 September 2022 Voter eligibility deadline
25 October 2022 Meet the JCP Executive Committee Candidates Zoom Webinar @ 10 AM PDT
1 - 14 November 2022 Ballot open for voting
15 November 2022 Elections results available
29 November 2022 New EC Members take office


Under the JCP 2.11 rules, the EC has resized. In 2021 and going forward, there will be 11 Ratified Seats, 4 Elected Seats, 2 Associate Seats and the permanent seat held by Oracle America. Members serve 2-year terms that are staggered so that 8 or 9 of the 17 seats are normally up for ratification/election each year.

The EC members guide the evolution of the Java technologies. The EC represents a cross-section of both major stakeholders and other members of the Java Community. Duties are: select JSRs for development, approve draft Specifications for Public Review, approve Final Specifications, review TCK appeals, approve Maintenance revisions and possibly defer some features to a new JSR, approve transfer of maintenance duties between members and provide guidance to the Program Management Office (PMO). For more information on the EC, see the Executive Committee Info page.

2021 EC Elections Results

2020 EC Elections Results

2019 EC Elections Results

2018 EC Elections Results

2018 EC Special Elections Results

2017 EC Elections Results

2017 Special EC Elections Results

2016 EC Elections Results

2015 EC Elections Results

2014 EC Elections Results

2013 EC Elections Results

2012 EC Elections Results

2011 EC Elections Results

2010 EC Elections Results

2009 EC Elections Results

2008 EC Elections Results

2007 EC Elections Results

2006 EC Elections Results

2005 EC Elections Results

2004 EC Elections Results

2003 EC Elections Results

2002 EC Elections Results

2001 EC Elections Results

2000 EC Elections Results

For more information on the JCP, see the JCP Overview page.

Contact the PMO for election questions at